Sunday, 5 January 2014


I told you it'd just take time! The North Carolina Film Critics Association has joined the chorus of support for The Wolf of Wall Street, despite all the negative reactions to the film. Now that people are seeing it, people are nominating it. As with yesterday's NSFC results, Her takes a bit of a dip in the standings, and though American Hustle reaps a few nominations, including one for Amy Adams, the NCFCA picks Sarah Paulson and Julia Roberts in their respective films over Hustle's Jennifer Lawrence. Winners will be announced a week today, on the 12th.

Best Narrative Film

·          12 Years a Slave
·          American Hustle
·          Gravity
·          Inside Llewyn Davis
·          The Wolf of Wall Street

Best Director
·          Alfonso Cuarón (Gravity)
·          Steve McQueen (12 Years a Slave)
·          Alexander Payne (Nebraska)
·          David O. Russell (American Hustle)
·          Martin Scorsese (The Wolf of Wall Street)

Best Actor
·          Bruce Dern (Nebraska)
·          Leonardo DiCaprio (The Wolf of Wall Street)
·          Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years a Slave)
·          Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club)
·          Robert Redford (All Is Lost)

Best Actress
·          Amy Adams (American Hustle)
·          Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine)
·          Sandra Bullock (Gravity)
·          Adèle Exarchopoulos (Blue Is the Warmest Colour)
·          Emma Thompson (Saving Mr. Banks)

Best Supporting Actor
·          Barkhad Abdi (Captain Phillips)
·          Michael Fassbender (12 Years a Slave)
·          John Goodman (Inside Llewyn Davis)
·          Jonah Hill (The Wolf of Wall Street)
·          Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club)

Best Supporting Actress
·          Scarlett Johansson (Her)
·          Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years a Slave)
·          Sarah Paulson (12 Years a Slave)
·          Julia Roberts (August: Osage County)
·          June Squibb (Nebraska)

Best Original Screenplay
·          Ethan Coen and Joel Coen (Inside Llewyn Davis)
·          Spike Jonze (Her)
·          Bob Nelson (Nebraska)
·          Jeff Nichols (Mud)
·          David O. Russell and Eric Singer (American Hustle)

Best Adapted Screenplay
·          Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke and Richard Linklater (Before Midnight)
·          Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber (The Spectacular Now)
·          François Ozon (In the House)
·          John Ridley (12 Years a Slave)
·          Terence Winter (The Wolf of Wall Street)

Best Animated Film
·          The Croods
·          Despicable Me 2
·          Frozen
·          Monsters University
·          The Wind Rises

Best Documentary Film
·          20 Feet from Stardom
·          The Act of Killing
·          Blackfish
·          Muscle Shoals
·          Stories We Tell

Best Foreign Language Film
·          Blue Is the Warmest Colour
·          The Great Beauty
·          A Hijacking
·          The Hunt
·          The Past

Tar Heel Award
·          All Is Bright
·          Bad Grandpa
·          The Conjuring
·          Iron Man 3
·          The Way Way Back