Friday, 10 January 2014


The Iowa Film Critics don't have a lot of categories, and there were only five categories in which 12 Years a Slave could compete. Well, it won in every single one of those five, making it the most-awarded film in the organisation's history. Beyond their love for 12 Years and Nebraska, I can't say I particularly like the Iowa bunch's selections, but hey, each to their own...

Best Picture
1.       12 Years a Slave
2.        Nebraska
3.        American Hustle

Best Director
1.       Steve McQueen (12 Years a Slave)
2.        David O. Russell (American Hustle)
3.        Alfonso CuarĂ³n (Gravity)

Best Actor
1.       Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years a Slave)
2.        Oscar Isaac (Inside Llewyn Davis)
3.        Bruce Dern (Nebraska)

Best Actress
1.       Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine)
2.        Amy Adams (American Hustle)
3.        Sandra Bullock (Gravity)

Best Supporting Actor
1.       Michael Fassbender (12 Years a Slave)
2.        Barkhad Abdi (Captain Phillips)
3.        Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club)

Best Supporting Actress
1.       Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years a Slave)
2.        June Squibb (Nebraska)
3.        Jennifer Lawrence (American Hustle)

Best Animated Film
1.       Frozen
2.        The Wind Rises
3.        Despicable Me 2

Best Documentary
1.       20 Feet from Stardom
2.        Blackfish
3.        Stories We Tell