Wednesday, 18 December 2013


12 Years a Slave continues what now clearly looks to be a sweep of the smaller critic groups with a win at the moderately-sized Las Vegas Film Critics Society. Its lead Chiwetel Ejiofor does lose out to Matthew McConaughey for Dallas Buyers Club, who now appears to be Ejiofor's biggest competition come Oscar time. Gravity takes home a bulk of the technical awards, as it has done in many other groups.

Best Picture

1.        12 Years a Slave
2.        Dallas Buyers Club
3.        Gravity
4.        The Wolf of Wall Street
5.        American Hustle
6.        Inside Llewyn Davis
7.        Saving Mr. Banks
8.        Nebraska
9.        Her
10.     Lone Survivor

Best Director
       Steve McQueen (12 Years a Slave)

Best Actor
       Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club)

Best Actress
       Emma Thompson (Saving Mr. Banks)

Best Supporting Actor
       Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club)

Best Supporting Actress
       Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years a Slave)

Best Screenplay
       Spike Jonze (Her)

Best Cinematography
       Emmanuel Lubezki (Gravity)

Best Film Editing
       Alfonso CuarĂ³n and Mark Sanger (Gravity)

Best Art Direction
       Andy Nicholson (Gravity)

Best Costume Design
       Patricia Norris (12 Years a Slave)

Best Visual Effects

Best Score
       Hans Zimmer (12 Years a Slave)

Best Song
       ‘Please Mr. Kennedy’ (Inside Llewyn Davis)

Best Animated Film

Best Documentary

Best Foreign Film
       Blue Is the Warmest Colour

Best Action Film
       Lone Survivor

Best Comedy Film
       This Is the End

Best Family Film
       Saving Mr. Banks

Best Horror / Sci-Fi Film
       Pacific Rim

Breakout Filmmaker of the Year
       Ryan Coogler (Fruitvale Station)

Youth in Film
       Tye Sheridan (Mud)

Best DVD (Packaging, Design and Content)
       Breaking Bad – The Complete Series (Blu-Ray)

William Holden Lifetime Achievement Award
       John Goodman