Wednesday, 2 January 2013


Best Picture
Argo (Ben Affleck, George Clooney and Grant Heslov)
Beasts of the Southern Wild (Michael Gottwald, Dan Janvey and Josh Penn)
Django Unchained (Reginald Hudlin, Pilar Savone and Stacey Sher)
Life of Pi (Ang Lee, Gil Netter and David Womark)
Lincoln (Kathleen Kennedy and Steven Spielberg)
Les Misérables (Tim Bevan, Eric Fellner, Debra Hayward and Cameron Mackintosh)
Moonrise Kingdom (Wes Anderson, Jeremy Dawson, Steven M. Rales and Scott Rudin)
Silver Linings Playbook (Bruce Cohen, Donna Gigliotti and Jonathan Gordon)
Skyfall (Barbara Broccoli and Michael G. Wilson)
Zero Dark Thirty (Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal and Megan Ellison)

Best Animated Feature
Brave (Katherine Sarafian)
Frankenweenie (Allison Abbate and Tim Burton)
ParaNorman (Travis Knight and Arianne Sutner)
Rise of the Guardians (Nancy Bernstein and Christina Steinberg)
Wreck-It Ralph (Clark Spencer)

Best Documentary
The Gatekeepers (Estelle Fialon, Philippa Kowarsky and Dror Moreh)
The Island President (Richard Berge and Bonni Cohen)
The Other Dream Team (Marius A. Markevicius and Jon Weinbach)
A People Uncounted (Tom Rasky, Marc Swenker, Stephen Chandler Whitehead and Aaron Yeger)
Searching for Sugar Man (Simon Chinn)

Big shockers absent from the PGA's Top of 2012. Matching the BFCA with one exception, this does little to complicate the race, and little to clarify either. The Master is absent, appearing to be one of those films which the guilds simply don't like - it happened to Atonement, it happened to The Tree of Life, now it's happening to The Master. Will it be nominated for the WGA, being eligible when so many others aren't? Instead, Skyfall is nominated, riding a wave of brilliant box office success (the PGA loves moneymakers). The Animated Feature nominees are all high(-ish)-grossing options, as opposed to some of the independent features which the Academy often favours. I've finally updated the Documentary nominees with full credits, although only on this post. Winners will be announced on the 26th of January.